Crucially, England need to review the height of their tackles this time around. Because after opener Owen Farrell’s red card, It’s third center line Billy Vunipola’s turn to be convened by an independent disciplinary committee. In fact, the Saracens player was accused of breaching Rule 9.13 relating to players’ health: ”A player may not dangerously tackle an opponent“.

OFFICIAL – Billy Vunipola is called before the Independent Disciplinary Committee tomorrow evening.
9.13 A player charged with a breach of rule: A player must not tackle an opponent […] in a dangerous way.pic.twitter.com/u7K4HpvVNb
— Gauthier Baudin (@GauthierBaudin) August 21, 2023
Farrell still in the dark, Vunipola to join him?
From the Farrell case (not referring to the Sexton case), An independent disciplinary body does not have a good reputation. For good reason, the difference in treatment annoys some supporters and players (like Pita Ahki, who doesn’t hesitate to voice his opinion). But now, following this, World Rugby has decided to get involved. And to appeal the decision in relation to Owen Farrell. In other words, England’s playing master could well and truly be overturned by the commission despite his red card being overturned. I missed part of the World Cup.



“Beeraholic. Friend of animals everywhere. Evil web scholar. Zombie maven.”

More Stories
What are the 5 most spoken languages in the world?
Master the Art of Applying Acrylic Nails at Home: A Complete Guide
Tortoises as Family Pets: Teaching Responsibility and Care